2017 WA Toyota Country Championships Results – Geraldton


Both Geraldton’s A sides were grand finalists in the men’s and women’s division in what was a massive weekend of highly competitive water polo at the Geraldton Aquarena.

In the women’s grand final, Geraldton’s A side faced first time grand finalists Karratha and disposed of them early increasing the score line at every break and finishing with a comfortable 12 point victory and a final score line of 20-8. There were nine individual goal scorers for Geraldton with Geraldton’s Eliesha Brown racking up six goals and winning MVP for the game. Karratha’s Belinda Brooks fought hard for her side and was named MVP for the entire tournament.

The men’s game proved to be a much more competitive affair with Geraldton’s A side fighting to stay one goal ahead of Bunbury right until the final minute of the game. Spectators were on the edge of their seats as scores were level 10 all with only five minutes on the clock in the final quarter. Bunbury refused to give up matching Geraldton 11 all with just three minutes remaining. Geraldton Veteran, Mick Rock, managed to slot the ball past the Bunbury keeper to put his side ahead by 1 goal with just over 1 minute remaining in the game. Referees for the game were quoted as saying that the men’s grand final was one of the best games they’ve seen in more than 20 years. Bunbury goalkeeper Jack Deschamp was awarded MVP for the grand final and took out the honours of the entire tournament as well.

In the play offs for the bronze medals, Bunbury took home the bronze in the women’s division and last years winners, Karratha, took the honours in the men’s.


Jack Deschamp

Eliesha Browne


Jack Deschamp

Belinda Brooks


Justin Angove (Men’s Division)

Caitlin Read (Women’s Division)


Eliesha Browne, Alisha Gilbert, Caitlin Walker, Abbey Benham, Narene Lawley, Emma Hancox, Kate Kalajzich, Belinda Brooks, Anouska Angove, Laura Hill, Caitlin Read, Deb Mercer, Alice Rotheram


Zac Cross, Joel Cross, Mick Rock, Rhys Knight, Justin Angove, Jack Deschamp, Jarrod English, Corey Smith, Brad Horsman, Daniel Lacey, Daniel Prout, Marko Draksimovic, Tim Bailey


Bunbury’s Natasha O’Neill was awarded life membership to Water Polo WA Country for her outstanding contribution to country water polo spanning over 17 years.  Tash has been a board member, official, player, coach, manager, publicity and marketing officer, club member, event coordinator and above all an enthusiastic and committed ambassador for the great sport of water polo.

2016 State Country Champs – Karratha

Mens Grand Final Line UP

The 2016 State Country Water Polo Championships was held in Karratha from 4 – 6 March 2016 and successfully hosted by the Karratha Water Polo Assoc. Inc (KWPA).

The event saw teams from across the state including Bunbury, Busselton, Geraldton and Hedland travel to Karratha to compete at the Karratha Leisureplex over the long weekend in March.

The Karratha Men’s A side won the grand final in spectacular form for the first time ever in WA Country Water Polo history.

Men’s grand final highlights:

Tibor Seress, an 11 year Hungarian National player who now resides in Perth, strategically coached Karratha men to victory at the State Country Water Polo Championships hosted by Karratha on the weekend.

In the grand final against Pilbara rivals Hedland, Karratha were securely in the lead by the first quarter and defensively shut Hedland down and kept them to four goals for the entire game.

Justin Angove (MVP for the Grand final) lead the way for Karratha men scoring 4 goals under a lot of defensive pressure.

In just his second season of water polo, Karratha’s goal keeper Dan Glover was impenetrable in the goals and allowed just two goals past him right up until the last quarter. Hedland only scored an additional 2 goals in the final minutes of the last quarter.

Final score 9-4.

Karratha 1 Mens PremiersKarratha Men Celebrate victory

Womens Grand Final Highlights

The women’s grand final was an absolute nail biter with long term rivals Bunbury and Geraldton evenly matched throughout the game and going into most quarter time breaks a draw. It came down to the  final seconds of the last quarter for Bunbury to score two goals in quick succession to give them the lead. Despite a 5 metre penalty being awarded to Geraldton to bring them back within a goal of drawing the game Bunbury ended up victorious as Geraldton simply ran out of time.

Emma Morelli (a Busselton resident who played for Bunbury at the last second because Busselton didn’t have a women’s side) was named the MVP for the grand final and also the Tournament’s Fairest and Best for the Women’s division.


Final score 14-13.

Bunbury Women GF Winners


MEN  – Presented by Hon Mia Davies MLA



HIGHEST GOAL-SCORER: Tiago Magalhaes (Busselton) 18 goals

GRAND FINAL MVP:  Justin Angove (Karratha)

ALL-STAR TEAM:Dan Weaver (Hedland), Noel Morrison (Hedland), Brad Horsman (Hedland), Daniel Lacey (Hedland), Justin Angove (Karratha), Rhys Knight (Karratha), Jarrod English (Bunbury), Tiago Magalhaes (Busselton), Mick Rock (Geraldton), Joel Cross (Geraldton), Reg Burrows (Bunbury), Mason Watts (Karratha) and Jack Deschamp (Bunbury)

WOMEN – Presented by Cr Peter Long, Mayor City of Karratha



HIGHEST GOAL-SCORER: Belinda Brooks (Karratha) 19 goals

GRAND FINAL MVP:  Emma Morelli (Bunbury)

ALL-STAR TEAM: Nicole Hearn (Bunbury), Belinda Brooks (Karratha), Eliesha Browne (Geraldton) Kylie English (Bunbury) Emma Morelli (Bunbury) Alice Rotheram (Bunbury) Chelsey Barrett (Bunbury) Emma Hancock (Geraldton) Kate Kalajzich (Karratha) Anouska Angove (Karratha) Ellie Pead  (Geraldton) Juli Coffin (Geraldton) and Abbey Benham (Geraldton)

2015 Bendigo Bank WA State Country Champs – Bunbury

2015 Bendigo Bank WA Country Water Polo Championships highlight reel

2014 Bendigo Bank WA State Country Champs – Busselton
2014 Bendigo Bank State Country Championships

2013 State Country Champs – Peel
Bunbury Women Take Title

Victorius Bunbury Women’s Team

image description