2017 FINA World Junior Championships Squads are Announced

Posted by:

Water Polo Australia has named its Junior Men’s and Junior Women’s teams to tour ahead of the 2017 FINA World Junior Water Polo Championships.

The Junior Men have kicked off their tour in Szombathely, Hungary with five days of intense training ahead of their first tournament starting today, Friday 21st July. Their tour continues through Budapest for another round of training before tournament two of their tour to be held in Bor, Serbia from 27th-30th July. From there the team will hit the road to training camp in Novi Sad for final preparations ahead of the FINA World Men’s Junior Water Polo Championships in Belgrade, Serbia, from August 5th-13th.

The women’s team will depart on 20th August visiting Hungary for a tournament before heading to their final destination, Volos, Greece for the pinnacle of their tour at the FINA World Women’s Junior Water Polo Championship.

The draws for both the Men’s and Women’s competitions have been announced with Junior Women up against the China, South Africa and Greece in the initial rounds, and our Junior Men will face New Zealand, Argentina, Serbia and the China.

Water Polo Australia High-Performance Manager Tom Hill said: “This is the perfect opportunity for the next generation of Aussie Sharks and Aussie Stingers to get maximum exposure on the International stage. The competition will be fierce for both our Junior Men and Women, so it will provide invaluable experience for all players.

“The combination of competing under tournament pressures, travel, team building and exposure to peers from other nations is exactly what our Juniors need in order to succeed at the highest level.”

Originally posted in WPAL

Photo Credit: WPAL

On behalf of Water Polo Western Australia Inc we wish to congratulate the selected athletes and wish everyone the best of luck for the upcoming competitions!


Nicholas Elphick (Melville)

Christian Kyriakou (UWA City Beach)

Tim Putt (UWA City Beach)

Lachlan Vos (UWA City Beach)

Damian Williams (Melville)

Hugh Anstey (QLD)

Adam Hall (NSW)

Nicholas Hallam (VIC)

Rhys Holden (NSW)

Sam Nangle (NSW)

Charlie Negus (NSW)

Nicholas Porter (QLD)

Connor Wolohan (NSW)

Coach: Andrei Kovalenko

Assistant Coach: Vedran Cirkovic


Tess Hosking (UWA City Beach)

Dayna O’Leary (UWA City Beach)

Sofie Pontre (Melville)

Bethany Clark (NSW)

Alexandra Corbett (NSW)

Kiara Holden (NSW)

Matilda Kearns (NSW)

Bridget Leeson Smith  (QLD)

Danielle Morrissey (NSW)

Gabi Palm  (QLD)

Ashleigh Roberts  (QLD)

Alice Williams (QLD)

Mia Willows (NSW)

Coach: Aleksandr Osadchuk

Assistant Coach: Georgina Kovacs